Spirit of the Rodeo Award

Presented to the individual, set of individuals, or team that exhibits commendable acts of kind, generous, and sportsman-like behavior toward other competitors, Rodeo officials, and/or guests.

The National Gas Rodeo committee meets during the event to evaluate and designate a winning team, individual, or company. The award is presented during the closing ceremony.

Questions? Contact Stacey Bonine at (651) 289-9600 x114.


Trail Boss Award

Trail Boss Award Honorees

The Spirit of the Rodeo Award was introduced in 2018 and replaces the Trail Boss Award.

The Trail Boss Award was implemented in 2001 to recognize an individual for exemplary service, leadership, and contribution to the National Gas Rodeo. Nominations for the award were reviewed and voted upon during the annual planning meeting.

2017 – Larry Buie, AGL Resources
2016 – Robert Cavaliere, Keyspan (retired)
2015 – Tim Ellefson, Colorado Springs Utilities
2014 – Mike Chitwood, Ed Young Sales Company
2013 – Patrick Wentworth, NiSource
2012 – Randy Utecht, Xcel Energy
2011 – Rich Muench, Xcel Energy
2010 – Mike Nizolek, Ameren
2009 – Mark Popov, Ameren
2008 – Mike Blum, Duke Energy
2007 – Scot Luchtefed, Ameren
2006 – Mike Ventress, Ameren
2005 – Ken Nichols, Columbia Gas
2004 – Connie Garrett, Ameren
2003 – Terry Wilson, Fairview Heights, P&R
2002 – Ron Pate, Illinois Power
2001 – Bob Barcum, Illinois Power